Coffee Chronicles: Dexter Cafe

I’d cycled past the black and white fronted café a few times, and had stopped to study the menu for a good ten minutes on one occasion. Their international coffee page intrigued me… particularly the Finnish speciality which involved coffee with chunks of mozzarella in. I don’t know if that’s honestly what Finnish people drink but it got me interested.

So, last week I decided to splash out and headed to Dexter Café for a morning of indulgence and, potentially, cheese-infused coffee.

The smell of espresso and condensed milk envelops you as you walk in, and the open space is tastefully and simply decorated.

img_2886

The coffee menu is extensive with all the usual espresso-based favourites, but I was there for the coffees of the world… I struggled to choose between the German, Aussie and Hong Kong specialities. And then, of course, there was the Finnish coffee with steamed milk and mozzarella. I was tempted. I asked the waitress to help me decide and she couldn’t conceal her distaste when I asked about it. Her nose turned up like she’d smelt something bad and I genuinely thought she’d vomited in her own mouth for a moment. I was still tempted. She recommended the Korean coffee with Oreos. Weighing up this incredibly difficult and meaningful decision for a couple of minutes more, I decided to cool off in the 34 degree heat with the Yuan Yeng, a Hong Kong iced coffee with condensed milk and English breakfast tea.

Even as the waitress walked away with my order I debated whether to call her back and change it to the cheese coffee, but I resisted.

My iced coffee came with a bottle of sugar syrup on the side (which I liked because I could then control how sweet to have it) and it was delicious and refreshing. But to be honest, I couldn’t really taste the English breakfast tea (not sure whether that’s a good or a bad thing), and I would’ve been just as content with a sweet, condensed milk coffee off the street for a third of the price.

I guess the cost paid for the attentive staff and lovely surroundings, which I enjoyed for much of the morning, writing, reading, eavesdropping and people watching, so I didn’t feel disappointed. I will go back to Dexters for more coffee, but next time I’m ordering the cheese one.

Leave a Reply

